Tuesday, 29 December 2015

Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The First Half of 2016


The end of a year, the slow build-up of a TBR for the next. 2016 has some great books coming out and this week's Top 10 Tuesday is dedicated to exactly those! (Warning: You might need Goodreads open on a separate tab to add some of these to your list. Or all of them. I won't judge. I might high five you though.)

1. A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2), by Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: 3rd May        [Pre-order]   {Goodreads}

'A Court of Thorns and Roses' was one of my favorite books this year and I absolutely can't wait for the second in the series. While it can stand as its own story and there are no immediate cliffhangers to deal with, I adored this world so much that I just need to read more.



Also, I miss Lucien. *sigh*


Sunday, 27 December 2015

'Red Rising', by Pierce Brown

Title: Red Rising (Red Rising #1)
Author(s): Pierce Brown
Release Date: 25th September 2014 (Paperback)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Genre: Science Fiction, YA
Source: Giveaway

Synopsis:
The Earth is dying. Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it. The Reds are humanity's last hope.

Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it's all a lie. That Mars has been habitable - and inhabited - for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. A class of people who look down on Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought.

Until the day that Darrow, with the help of a mysterious group of rebels, disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their command school, intent on taking down his oppressors from the inside. But the command school is a battlefield - and Darrow isn't the only student with an agenda.

Break the chains. Live for more.

----------------------------------------

Friday, 25 December 2015

'Christmas Ever After', by Sarah Morgan

Title: Christmas Ever After (Puffin Island #3)
Author(s): Sarah Morgan
Release Date: October 2015
Publisher: Harlequin
Genre: Romance
Source: Publisher

Synopsis:
Skylar Tempest has never understood Alec Hunter's appeal. So what if he's a world-renowned historian? He's also cynical, aloof and determined to think the worst of her. So when a twist of fate finds her spending the lead-up to Christmas with Alec and his family, she's not expecting the season to be either merry or bright.

Alec has learned the hard way not to trust beautiful women—and Skylar is the most beautiful woman he's ever seen. But as he watches her throw herself into his family's festive chaos, Alec realises there is far more to this blonde bombshell than meets the eye.

With Christmas around the corner, Alec and Skylar return to Puffin Island, a tentative bond forged between them. Neither intends to fall in love, but as the nights become darker, and the fire between them grows hotter, could this be the chance for Alec and Skylar to find their own happy ending?

-----------------------------------

Tuesday, 22 December 2015

Top Ten Books I Wouldn't Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

 

The best present anyone can give me is books. Since I learned how to read, books were something that I always asked for and people that know me soon realized that it was the safest bet when it came to the time of present giving. So, this week's Top Ten Tuesday is something that should be easy for me to come up with but at the same time, not so much. I'm not picky at all when it comes to Christmas presents but, for the sake of this list, I've come up with a list of books that I would be really happy to add to my TBR.

Also, even if Santa seems to me like someone that could pull off some miracles, I'm only including books that have already been released.

1. 'Winter', by Marissa Meyer


[Goodreads]

The 'Lunar Chronicles' is one of my favorite series and I am sad to see it come to an end. I have been in such a denial that I have yet to read it or even buy it. If I don't do it, it's not really over, right?

I do want to read it soon though (before I find any spoilers by mistake), so if Santa wanted to be super awesome this year I would love to find 'Winter' under my tree!

Sunday, 20 December 2015

'Read Red Rising' Readalong: Part III - Gold


First of all, I would like to thank Hodderscape for organizing this readalong and finally giving me the excuse to pick up this incredible book. It's been harder than I thought only reading one part per week especially when there always seems to be a cliffhanger to make me want to break the rules and keep going. It does give me time to properly digest everything that is going on and trying to come up with theories for what will be coming next, so it's been a great experience!

Today I am bringing you a review/talk on Part III of the book, entitled 'Gold'. Fair warning, there will be spoilers of the book up to the end of this part! Tread carefully if you have not finished yet or intend to read it soon. I will write a spoiler free review at the end of the month for those of you yet unconverted to this series.

Without further ado, let's dig in! (pun intended)

--------------------

Thursday, 17 December 2015

November Wrap Up


This is incredibly late but I was waiting until I had the chance to put the video up on the channel before doing the post here to go along with it and for the sake of completeness going forward I decided to do this post anyway even if late. I'm aiming to always get it done nearer the end of the month in the future (*crosses fingers*) so hopefully this delay really is just a one time thing.

So here are all the books I read during November!


Tuesday, 15 December 2015

Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015


This week's Top Ten Tuesday is something that I dread doing every year. How can I possibly decide on just a select group of favorite books, and more importantly, put them in order?

So I pulled my list of books read throughout this year and, unless I get a last minute surprise (who doesn't love one of those), these were my favorite books of 2015!

1. 'Illuminae', by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

[Goodreads]     {Review}

I did not have to think twice about which book was my absolute favorite this year. In one of my reviews (I loved it so much I reviewed it twice) I said this was going to be my favorite read of the year and no book I have read since then has surpassed it.

An incredible concept with brilliant execution and an even better plot-twist ending, if you have yet to read this book, make it one of your choices for 2016. You will not regret it!


Friday, 11 December 2015

'Trouble is a Friend of Mine', by Stephanie Tromly

Title: Trouble is a Friend of Mine
Author(s): Stephanie Tromly
Release Date: 6th August 2015
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Genre: Contemporary, YA
Source: Giveaway

Synopsis:
Sherlock meets The Breakfast Club in this story of a wisecracking girl who meets a weird but brilliant boy and their roller-coaster of a semester that's one part awkward, three parts thrilling, and five parts awesome

After her parents get divorced, high school junior Zoe Webster moves with her mother from Brooklyn to upstate New York, determined to get back to the city and transfer to the elite private school her father insists on. But then she meets Philip Digby--the odd and brilliant and somehow attractive?--Digby, and soon finds herself in a series of hilarious and dangerous situations all centered on his search for the kidnapper of a local teenage girl who may know something about the tragic disappearance of his kid sister eight years ago. Before she knows it, Zoe has vandalized an office complex with fake snow, pretended to buy drugs alongside a handsome football star dressed like the Hulk, had a serious throw down with a possible religious cult, challenged her controlling father, and, oh yeah, saved her new hometown.

For fans of John Green and David Levithan, this is a crime novel where catching the crook isn't the only hook, a romance where the leading man is decidedly unromantic, a friendship story where they aren't even sure they like each other, and a debut you won't soon forget.

-----------------

Tuesday, 8 December 2015

Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015


While I had as one of my reading resolutions for 2015 to finish as many incomplete series as I could from my TBR, the truth was (to the surprise of no one) that I did read a few new authors throughout the year. For this week's Top Ten Tuesday (after a few weeks break, hopefully back on track now), I'm gonna share my favorites with you!

1. Sarah J. Maas

I had been hearing about the 'Throne of Glass' series for ages. It sounded like something that I would most likely enjoy, but I always have so many unread books on my shelves that I kept postponing it.
Around Christmas of last year, on one of my (too) often occurring online browsing of book retailers, I saw the first book of the series for a cheap price and ended up adding it to my cart. I didn't pick it up February, and I could see why so many people were in love with these books.

Monday, 30 November 2015

'Blood, Ink & Fire', by Ashley Mansour

Title: Blood, Ink & Fire
Author(s): Ashley Mansour
Release Date: 1st December 2015
Publisher: Upturn Publishing
Genre: YA, Dystopian
Source: NetGalley (ARC)

Synopsis:
Imagine a world without books…
In the future, books are a distant memory. The written word has been replaced by an ever-present stream of images known as Verity. In the controlling dominion of the United Vales of Fell, reading is obsolete and forbidden, and readers themselves do not—cannot—exist.
But where others see images in the stream, teenager Noelle Hartley sees words. She’s obsessed with what they mean, where they came from, and why they found her.

Noelle’s been keeping her dangerous fixation with words a secret, but on the night before her seventeenth birthday, a rare interruption in the stream leads her to a mysterious volume linked to an underworld of rebel book lovers known as the Nine of the Rising. With the help of the Risers and the beguiling boy Ledger, Noelle discovers that the words within her are precious clues to the books of the earlier time—and as a child of their bookless age, she might be the world’s last hope of bringing them back.

Blood, Ink & Fire is a gripping, evocative tale that asks, who would we be without books?

--------------------------

Thursday, 26 November 2015

'Reasons to Love a Nerd Like Me' by Becky Jerams

Title: Reasons to Love a Nerd Like Me
Author(s): Becky Jerams
Release Date: 12th October 2015
Publisher: Amazon
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Source: Author

Synopsis:
Scotty Williams is the nerdiest 17-year-old at Havensdale College - and proud of it. However being a nerd can have its downsides, particularly when you're constantly being targeted by the school bully Taylor Raven and his cronies. As Scotty tries to navigate his final college years with the aid of his best friend Olive, he also finds himself on the radar of the mysterious and intimidating Vincent Hunter, toughest guy in the Sixth Form. Is Vincent really as bad as he seems? Will Scotty's darkest secret ever be revealed? Can he ever just finish his last few college years in peace? But most importantly... will any guy ever find the reasons to love a nerd like him?
---------------------------

Thursday, 19 November 2015

'The Rosie Effect', by Graeme Simsion

Title: The Rosie Effect (Don Tillman #2)
Author(s): Graeme Simsion
Release Date: 24th September 2014
Publisher: Penguin Books
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Bought

Synopsis:
The Rosie Effect is the charming and hilarious sequel to Graeme Simsion's bestselling debut novel The Rosie Project.

Forty-one-year-old geneticist Don Tillman had never had a second date before he met Rosie.

Now, living in New York City, they have survived ten months and ten days of marriage, even if Don has had to sacrifice standardized meals and embrace unscheduled sex.

But then Rosie drops the mother of all bombshells. And Don must prepare for the biggest challenge of his previously ordered life - at the same time as dodging deportation, prosecution and professional disgrace.

Is Don Tillman ready to become the man he always dreamed of being? Or will he revert to his old ways and risk losing Rosie for ever?


Join Don and Rosie in the next chapter of their weird and wonderful journey in Graeme Simsion's unmissable new novel, The Rosie Effect.

------------------------------------

Monday, 16 November 2015

'D.C. Trip', by Sara Benincasa

Title: D.C. Trip
Author(s): Sara Benincasa
Release Date: 3rd November 2015
Publisher: Adaptive Books (Adaptive Studios)
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Publisher

Synopsis:
Author and comedienne Sara Benincasa takes a bold, fearless and irreverent look at the classic high school trip to Washington DC.

Alicia Deats is a new teacher chaperoning her very first high school trip to Washington DC, and nothing could be more terrifying than a class full of horny, backstabbing, boundary-pushing teenagers under her watch. To make matters worse, she embarrassed herself with her co-chaperone Bryan Kenner with one too many margaritas and an ill-placed vomiting incident at last year’s teacher mixer and is hoping this trip can be a fresh start for them. Alicia believes in positive reinforcement and trust to keep her students out of trouble, but best friend high school sophomores Gertie, Sivan, and Rachel have a different idea: they plan to take full advantage of the un-parented freedom that a trip to DC offers. DC TRIP by novelist-comedian Sara Benincasa is an honest and irreverent journey of sexual confusion, bar shots, drag queens, and pot cookies in the Rose Garden.

-----------------------------

Friday, 13 November 2015

'The Girl on the Train', by Paula Hawkins

Title: The Girl on the Train
Author(s): Paula Hawkins
Release Date: 15th January 2015
Publisher: Transworld (Random House)
Genre: Thriller
Source: Bought

Synopsis:
A debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives.

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

Compulsively readable, The Girl on the Train is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller and an electrifying debut.

-----------------------------------------

Tuesday, 10 November 2015

Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I'm Looking Forward To


Ah, book to movie adaptations. Sometimes we love them, sometimes we hate them, but we can't deny it's a great feeling getting to see our favorite books up there on the silver screen or going home and wanting to pick up a book because we loved the movie (I'm looking at you, The Martian).

So, for this weeks Top Ten Tuesday (and my first here on the blog, yay!), I'm gonna share with you the book adaptations I'm most looking forward to in upcoming movie releases!

1. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2


I absolutely can't wait to see the conclusion of the 'Hunger Games' franchise, my favorite of the last few years. I actually think I like the movies better than the books (not saying I don't like the books, but the movies bring such a different look into the world, instead of just being confined to Katniss' head), and I trust that they will have done a great job with this last installment.

I am still secretly hoping that that one thing that happens to a certain someone in the book does not happen to their movie counterpart, because it's been years since I read the book and I am still not over it.


Saturday, 7 November 2015

'Affinity', by Sarah Waters

Title: Affinity
Author(s): Sarah Waters
Release Date: 1999
Publisher: Virago 
Genre: Neo-Victorian, Historical Fiction
Source: Bought

Synopsis:
An upper-class woman recovering from a suicide attempt, Margaret Prior has begun visiting the women’s ward of Millbank prison, Victorian London’s grimmest jail, as part of her rehabilitative charity work. Amongst Millbank’s murderers and common thieves, Margaret finds herself increasingly fascinated by one apparently innocent inmate, the enigmatic spiritualist Selina Dawes. Selina was imprisoned after a séance she was conducting went horribly awry, leaving an elderly matron dead and a young woman deeply disturbed. Although initially skeptical of Selina’s gifts, Margaret is soon drawn into a twilight world of ghosts and shadows, unruly spirits and unseemly passions, until she is at last driven to concoct a desperate plot to secure Selina’s freedom, and her own.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, 3 November 2015

'Illuminae', by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Title: Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1)
Author(s): Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Release Date: 22nd October 2015 (UK)
Publisher: Rock The Boat (Oneworld Publications)
Genre: YA, Science Fiction
Source: Publisher (ARC)

Synopsis:
This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.